BOE releases names

Published 12:58 am Wednesday, April 2, 2008

By By Adam Prestridge
The Escambia County Board of Education provided the names of the members of the Escambia County High School principal selection committee Monday morning following a request by the Advance, which superintendent Billy Hines first denied at Thursday's board meeting.
A follow-up phone call to Hines last Friday morning resulted in a voicemail from Hines Friday afternoon stating that he had mailed the names of the committee to the Advance that day. The list was delivered at the post office Monday, which was then posted on
Those selected to the committee include, Webb Nall, LaShonda Marshall, Emilie Mims, Lillie Johnson, Murray Johnson, Sheryl West, Mary Bess Powell, Magaline Marshall, Virginia Quarker, Charles Lymon, Patricia Harris, Alice Adams and Marty Rolin. Sandra Hiebert was also selected to committee, but did not attend Thursday's interviews due to illness.
The Escambia County Board of Education unanimously selected Lowndes County native Harvey J. Means to replace interim Carl Raley as the principal of ECHS at the recommendation of the committee.
Hines has still not released the process by which the members of the committee were selected and the formula they used to determine their recommendation.
A message to Hines late Monday had not been returned by press time.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox