Sen. Ross speaks at ECMS graduation

Published 8:02 am Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Students honored Friday included, left to right, ECMS co-valedictorian Johnika Roberts, co-valedictorian Christiara Jones, co-salutatorian Zykeria Coleman and co-salutatorian Olivia Simmons.

Students honored Friday included, left to right, ECMS co-valedictorian Johnika Roberts, co-valedictorian Christiara Jones, co-salutatorian Zykeria Coleman and co-salutatorian Olivia Simmons.

A state legislative leader encouraged eighth graders at Escambia County Middle School to continue to pursue their educational goals, during the graduation ceremony held Friday at 9 a.m.

State Sen. Quinton Ross Jr., D-Montgomery, serves as the Senate Minority Leader, and spoke to the ECMS students about their future.

“This is just one destination along your journey,” said Ross, who represents the 26th District. “You have many more places that you have to reach.”

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Ross told the eighth graders to remember the two C’s, “company and communication.” He encouraged them to always try to keep positive people and friends in their company, and also warned them of the dangers of communication through social media.

“While social media can be so great, it can also be so damaging,” he said. “Everything that you put out there, you won’t ever be able to get it back.”

Ross closed his address by quoting Nelson Mandela, “The greatest weapon you can have is education, and you can use it to change the world.”

Special presentations were made to the ECMS salutatorians and valedictorians. The salutatorians were Zykeria Coleman and Olivia Simmons, and the valedictorians were Christiara Jones and Johnika Roberts.

The ECMS chorus performed “See You Again,” by Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth. Director Conrad Weber said that the students picked the song because “it captures many of the emotions they feel at a time like this.”

The ECMS graduates, in no particular order, included Trenton Atchison, Chyrelle Black, Malik R. Brown, Angelica Clack, Zykeria Coleman, Tatyana Davis, Brooke Doolittle, Isaiah Finney, Tyler Jackson, Darrica James, Joseph Johnson, Kherstin Johnson, Rickeyonna Johnson, Christiara Jones, Paris Jones, Toney Keith Jr., Saviour Kilpatrick, Shawn McIlwain, Jacala Nickson, Virgil Peoples Jr., Jasmine Rivers, Mardaizah Salter, Monnteith Salter, Arianna Silar, Olivia Simmons, Justin Tabb, Adonis Williams, Fa’Darius Williams, Luerensley Williams III, Samantha Wilson, Nykedria Brown, Cortez Finklea, Traquan Fountain, Jahaad Johnson, De’Andra Walker, Jaylyn Lee, Tyrec Packer, Jaylon Weaver, Edward Williams, Michael Wilson, Kelsi Brazwell, Nastacia Coley, Fantasia Deese, Edric Forney II, Victoria Haynes, Anthony Holt, Zion Jackson, Whitney Kimbler, Nicholas Martin, Jackob McGhee, Patrick McGhee, Devontae McMillan, Reggie Ross, Treyton Sheets, Jazsmine Sims, Garrett Smith, Chrishawn Westry Jr., Destanie Brown, India Crenshaw, Tytiana Dailey, Lauren Frye, Paris Jones, Jeremiah Lord, Alexandria Silar, Anna Thomas, Zachary Toomey, Demetrion Barnes, Henry Hadley, Davion Matthews, Joseph Johnson, Joshua Banks, Tyangelia Dees, Trinity Dukes, De’Asia Freeman, Miracle George, Brad Hastings, Antonio Holt, Tenisha Jackson, Deavontae Johnson, Jahmir Johnson, Drake McGhee, Ke’Aunyala Mitchell, Reville Mitchell Jr., Anaya Montgomery, JaQuan Morgan, Darriona Nichols, Delarrian Poole Jr., Janiyah Rogers, Eunique Rudolph, Alexis Wright, Sierra America, Khalil Askew, Ykeria Banks, Malik J. Brown, Deondre Freeman, Jabryce Hooks, James Johnson, Charles Lambert, Hailey Lewis, Joydan Pleasant, Latrice Pryear, Skyler Riley, Ebony Stallworth, Jatyrain Tolbert, Austin Walker, TyQuavirus Wright, Jonathan Barnes II, Kameran Boggan, Nigeria Bradley, Destinee Brown, Latavia Brown, Antonio Crenshaw, John Dirden, McKenna Dorriety, Kuron Frye, Joshua Hadley, Shavon Jeffries, Isaiah Mallory, Sean Marshall, Shea’Narvie Montgomery, Alexia Moore, Don Moorer, Destinee Ott, Jordaun Patterson, Gregory Robinson, KaTyree Russell, Alexys Smith, Tykee Stots, Chloe Weaver, Dimitri Wiggins, Tytill Woods, Sheyanne Wooley, Zayshia Mason and Cierra McCants.