Monroe Co. 8-U All-Stars win tourney

Published 4:31 pm Tuesday, June 23, 2015

The Monroe County 8-and-under Cal Ripken All-Stars finished in first place at the District 7 tournament, held last weekend at Tom Byrne Park.

Monroe County lost 16-14 to Tri-County on Saturday morning, dropping Monroe County into the losers’ bracket. Monroe County then three straight games — including two wins over Tri-County in the finals — to win the title.

Monroe County defeated Tri-County 15-14 in Game 1 of the championship round Sunday, and won by a 17-7 score in the deciding Game 2 as well.

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Atmore’s All-Stars played Tri-County on Friday, falling by the score of 14-3. Atmore dropped a 20-10 game to Flomaton on Saturday, ending their tournament run.

The Atmore All-Stars included Rontae Watson, Tanner Sanspree, Gabe Hooks, Brodie Phillips, Jay Robinson, Ja’Marrion Hooks, Jaylen Taylor, Quan Salzer, Luke Chavers, Harper Harrison, Ty McCants, Jameson McGhee, Lorenzo Arnold and Quay McCants.

Tri-County 14, Atmore 3

Friday night, Atmore fell behind 8-0 after one inning of play, on the way to a 14-3 defeat. Atmore scored one run in the first inning, one in the third and one in the fourth.

Jay Robinson scored two runs for Atmore, including a home run and a double. Quan Salzer doubled and scored a run, and Ty McCants hit a double.

Flomaton 20, Atmore 10

Atmore trailed just 5-4 after one inning of play Saturday, but Flomaton added five more runs in the second inning and two in the third to take a 12-4 lead heading into the bottom of the third.

Atmore scored four runs in the third to keep it close, but Flomaton was able to pull away late.

Rontae Watson and Tanner Sanspree each scored two runs for Atmore. Scoring one run each were McCants, Robinson, Salzer, Brodie Phillips, Ja’Marrion Hooks and Lorenzo Arnold.

Hooks was 3-for-3 with two singles and a double, and Robinson was also 3-for-3.