Collier is interim superintendent of county BOE

Published 6:05 pm Thursday, January 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dr. Michele Collier will continue in the role of superintendent of the Escambia County Board of Education in an interim capacity after members of the board agreed in a special-called meeting Monday in Brewton.
Collier has been serving in the superintendent role following the departure of Michele McClung, whose contract ends Jan. 31, 2024.
Collier will officially take over the interim position on Feb. 1. She will serve in that position for a period of 180 days or until the position is permanently filled — whichever comes first.
At Monday’s meeting, the board agreed that the position needs to be advertised for a period of 30 days to allow others to vie for the position. That advertisement was posted publicly on Monday and the application deadline was set for 4 p.m. on Feb. 21, 2024. The board will meet on Feb. 22 to discuss any applications that may be submitted during the appropriate period.
Following the close of the application period, the board will have the option to interview any potential candidates or to name the superintendent without an interview process.
Also during a meeting last Thursday, Collier announced the names of elementary and secondary teachers who were named “Teacher of the Year” for their respective schools.
Two of those teachers will be vying for the state award: Elementary Teacher of the Year for Escambia County is Brandy Lassiter, a teacher at Huxford Elementary. Secondary Teacher of the Year is Austin Rogers, a teacher at W.S. Neal High School.

The top teachers will be entered into a state-wide competition for Alabama’s Teacher of the Year.

In other business, the board approved the following personnel changes:

Sign up for our daily email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Resignation: Kike Pettaway, probationary principal at Escambia County High School, effective Jan. 21, 2024;

Leave of Absence: Jason Stabler, teacher at Escambia County Alternative School, effective 9/12 – 12/12/23;


Pettaway, mental health coordinator for Escambia County Board of Education, effect Jan. 22, replacing Marlo Young; Joseph DiFilippo, teacher at Escambia County High School effect Jan. 19 replacing Princess Davis; Kenyon Moody, elementary teacher at Escambia County Middle School, effective Jan. 2 replacing Seth Harwell;

Sydney Garrett, special education teacher at Escambia County Middle School, effect Jan. 19 replacing Berna Milton;

April Graham, elementary teacher at Pollard-McCall Junior High School, effect Jan. 19, replacing Jessics Peterson; Jalen Pugh, physical education teacher at Rachel Patterson Elementary, effective Jan. 19 replacing Maurice Bradley; Heather Lavana, special education aid at Rachel Patterson Elementary School effective Jan. 19; Makala Lee, special education aide at Rachel Patterson Elementary School effective Jan. 19; Julius Armstrong, special education teacher at Rachel Patterson Elementary School effective Jan. 19 replacing Tina Garrett; Shykeeliah Collins, elementary teacher at Rachel Patterson Elementary School effective Feb. 1, replacing Rhonda Jarju; Deborah Wiggins, six-hour lunchroom worker at Rachel Patterson Elementary effective Jan. 19 replacing Kendra Valenzuela; Heather Walter, English/Language Arts teacher at W.S. Neal Middle School effective Jan. 19 replacing Glyniss Booker; Angela Leachman, bus driver at Atmore Bus Shop effective Jan. 19, replacing Ronald Hall;

After-School Employment: Alison Britt, teacher, Flomaton High School, effective Jan. 19; Caroline Hughes, Julie McDonald and April George, teachers at Rachel Patterson Elementary School, effective Jan. 23;

Contract: Michael Roberts, TEAMS Science at W.S. Neal High School, effective Aug. 2, 2023.


The first photo is elementary (1923); the second, is secondary (2583), the third photo is of Rogers, left and Lassiter.


Teachers of the Year – Elementary: Named as Teacher of the Year for elementary schools in Escambia County were Natashcia Kidd – Escambia County Middle School; Courtney Dixon – Flomaton Elementary; Brandy Lassiter – Huxford Elementary; Noell Morris – Pollard-McCall; Kathy Griffin – Rachel Patterson Elementary; Amanda Hoke – W.S. Neal Elementary; Sandra Barrow – W.S. Neal Middle School; and Shirley Prescod – A.C. Moore Elementary.


Secondary: Named as Teacher of the Year for secondary schools in Escambia County were Jessica Green – Flomaton High School; Marcia Adams – Escambia County Middle School; Barbara Whatley – Escambia County High School; Anne Catherine Campbell – W.S. Neal Middle School; Austin Rogers – W.S. Neal High School; and Willie Fantroy – Escambia Career Readiness Center.